Institute Council

The Council of the Institute of War Losses was established by Order No. 321 of the Prime Minister of 2 December 2021 on the establishment of the Jan Karski Institute of War Losses (M.P.2021.1126). The Council is composed of experts in the fields related to the Institute, co-authors of "The Report on the Losses Sustained by Poland as a Result of German Aggression and Occupation during the Second World War, 1939-1945", and researchers indicated, among others, by the President of the Republic of Poland and the Speaker of the Sejm.

The Council fulfils the role of an advisory and opinion-forming body, whose tasks include initiating research, educational, popularisation and publishing projects, and providing opinions on educational and popularisation initiatives, as well as proposals for undertaking cooperation with other entities.

  The Council of the Jan Karski Institute for War Losses consists of:

  • Chairman Arkadiusz Mularczyk, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs
  • Dr. (hab.) Paweł Baranowski, Prof. UŁ
  • Michał Góras
  • Prof. Dr. (hab.) Mirosław Kłusek
  • Albert Łyjak
  • M.Eng. Józef Menes
  • Dr. Paweł Pońsko
  • Dr. (hab.) Eng. Mieczysław Prystupa
  • Prof. Dr. (hab.) Andrzej Przyłębski
  • Dr. (hab.) Jacek Reginia-Zacharski
  • Dr. Przemysław Sobolewski
  • Prof. Dr. (hab.) Jan Jacek Sztaudynger
  • Dr. (hab.) Jacek Reginia-Zacharski
  • Małgorzata Zając
  • Dr. Marcin Zarzecki and
  • Prof. Dr. (hab.) Jan Żaryn;